Booktravels and Travelbooks – Wrap up III (TBR 2022)

As Jack Edwards said – book buying and book reading are two totally different hobbies. Currently, I am enjoying both, because I have a job! Yay!

L.J. Shen – Boston Belles Monster (new addition to the TBR)

As I have told many times before, L.J. Shen writes about toxic relationships. One fan of her wrote that it is always about dark soulmates and yes, that might be true, still it doesn’t have to be that way. Unlike her other books this one had more than one funny sentence. Although, there was a weird obsession over the mentioning of the IQ of different people. And she made a good approach about assisted suicide, about people who are suffering from lethal illnesses and how they are doomed to go through that process, because euthanasia is forbidden in most countries. I had relations myself who went through a dehumanizing and undignified process of dying, something they wanted to avoid at all costs. Regarding this L.J. Shen made a good point.

Elizabeth Lim – Spin the Dawn

Recently, I watched a documentary series on Netflix, it was called “Far East”, “Fernost” in German. It was a German series where four guys from big television channels drove from Berlin to Tokyo via the Asian Highway 1, a project of the ESCAP to connect Asia and Europe through a whole network of Highways. At first, I just enjoyed the show, then I realized how good Elizabeth Lim had researched for her book. In fact, there is a spice road, although it is much lesser known than the silk road (another famous, but lesser known street network is the incense road through Arabia) and in Seoul there is living an old lady, which is a master in embroidery. The art of tailoring was reserved for men for most of the time, but this woman became a student of a master and even followed him during one of many wars to continue her studies. This story is very alike to the story of Spin the Dawn. Elizabeth Lim did a good job in world building and working out her characters. Still, I am a little bit salty about the age difference in her love interests, it is way too huge. Nevertheless, I enjoyed that book very much an will read the sequel.

Talia Hibbert – Get a Life, Chloe Brown

What should I say? This book, for sure, is very hyped on Booktok etc, but I didn’t get the hang of it. The description of fibromyalgia was intriguing, since I luckily don’t have any chronic illnesses it was a huge insight Talia Hibbert provided. The writing wasn’t bad, but the spark never came. Maybe it was, because I was stressed out in the last few weeks I couldn’t appreciate it, maybe Talia Hibbert is just not the author for me.

New additions

Women don’t owe you pretty by Florence Given. I bought the smaller version, because I was unsure whether I would like it or not. We’ll see soon. 😊

A court of thorns and roses by Sarah J. Maas. The book as the German translation hit our bookstores several years ago and I picked it up multiple times. And I don’t know, why it is so popular now, but it is the same with the Shatter Me series. It was about five to six years ago that I read the first book. What is that hype now? Well, let’s find out with ACOTAR.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started