Booktravels and Travelbooks Vol III

I hope you are not tired of me venting about books and movies/series they made out of it. šŸ˜Š

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo/Netflix.

Currently the internet is bursting with posts and articles about Darklina, Kanej and the excitement about the renewal of the show. I started to read the series back in 2012? 2013? I canā€™t remember. I only remember, that the book was a present from an old friend. I wasnā€™t too involved in the whole series and have bought the other two books over a span of several years, the last one in 2020. The hype went past me and I was surprised to see that they were making a show. And the show is better than the books. Because they didnā€™t just tell the story of Alina, Mal and the Darkling, but because they included the crows. Also, we donā€™t need to talk about the casting. On point!

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

While Shadow and Bone was just an interesting book, Six of Crows had my hooked. I had to make some breaks to work through everything I had read and to get some hope, that they were not about to die in the Ice Court of Fjerda. Since I knew the crows from the Netflix series I felt like I was just getting to know them better. And I was surprised by how young the crows in the books were. Everyone of them seemed more mature and it was easy to imagine the cast while reading.

The mysterious murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie.

This book is the fourth of the Poirot-series and I bought it in Pattaya in a big shopping mall. In the shelf next to the thrillers there were books for white men, that wanted to marry Thai women. It was a little bit creepy. This book started with a doctor and his sister. His sister is a little bit of a chatter and loves to gossip and to collect gossip. With her gossip she is incredibly well informed, but also blind to what is happening around her and with her brother, the doctor. Letā€™s say, I was very surprised about the ending.

And then there were none by Agatha Christie.

During the travel I was always looking for books of Agatha Christie. Surprisingly, Mexico didnā€™t offer as much English books as I expected with the Americans around the corner. I guess, itā€™s because the Americans want to improve their Spanish while in Mexico. However, this book I found in a small, American book store in Mexico City. This book based on a little rhyme about ten little soldiers and ow each and every one of them died. The people in this book died the same way. And it all was staged. Basically, it was several novels of Agatha Christie packed into one. With a nice twist at the end.

Endless Night by Agatha Christie.

As we checked in in our hotel in Chiang Mai Rob showed me this book. It was in a little shelf of books that were left by other visitors. I took it with me and started to read. It wasnā€™t as easy to read as other books of Agatha Christie and felt a little bit repetitive, since the layout of the murder had already been used by her. Or she has used the layout again in Death on the Nile. I truly donā€™t know. It was a good read and easy to follow, but still not the best.

The Grace Year by Kim Liggett.

I had found this book several years ago and couldnā€™t convince myself to buy it. It seemed very dark and negative and I heard the sexism in it scream from afar. I was right. I bought the e-book a few weeks back and I had to stop reading, because it was so cruel and affecting my mental state. The book is set in America during the time were the first Europeans had built their settlements. I am just guessing, because there is no mention of the exact location and time. Tierney, the protagonist, grew up in a strict religious settlement were every year the girls of the age of sixteen are brought to an encampment far away to have their grace year. During this year their ā€œmagicā€ should show and they have to get rid of it to be a purified woman and to marry. Who they are going to marry is decided the day before they have to leave. ā€œThe magicā€ is not much more than the men being unable to control themselves and poisoned water in the encampment. Still, ā€œthe magicā€ is brutal and is killing and hurting women for 76 years. But there is hope.

Hope is also there for me to get better soon.

-Toni

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started